Back to my stitching…

Standard

I can’t believe how quickly time passes.  It’s been over 3 months since I last posted anything and just as long since I last did any real stitching…I could make excuses about how busy things have been at work, which they have; but the truth is I’ve been spending much of my free time out in the garden.  We’ve been in this house 10 years now and we’ve never been happy with the garden.  It’s raised and basically consists of the clay and rubble which was dug out when the house was built back in the late 1950’s.  We’d love to dig it out to ground level, put in a retaining wall and replant from there, but we don’t have the thousands this would take.  So we’ve put in new steps, pathways, raised beds, several tons (literally) of new top soil and it’s finally taking shape.

So now we’re at the point of adding turf, we have lots of plants in the new beds which are beginning to grow and spread and I’m thinking it must be time to stitch!

I’ve been off work this week – trying to build up my energy before we go into A-level and GCSE result days over the next couple of weeks so have spent some time on good old King Tut.

I’m officially half way there!  I’ve also taken out some of the grid markings at the top of the project, partly to see how it looks without it and also to see how easily it comes out.

I’m planning to make some progress over the next few days and will post again at the weekend I hope.

Hope you’re doing better on your projects than I am on mine.

Enjoy your stitching.

Half way there, and some of the grid ou

Half way there, and some of the grid out

2 responses »

  1. Wow! This really is looking fabulous ☺. I know exactly what you mean about gardens. Nature is taking over mine, which is great for the birds and the insects as well as our resident hedgehogs but I wish it would just stay nice without the work. The minute you think you are finished, it starts undoing all of the hard work you’ve put in.

  2. Thanks Avis! I’ve barely touched it since, though I am almost half way through the 4th of 6 sheets – am hoping to get another update posted this week…

Leave a Reply

