Things don’t last like they used to…

Standard

This is just a quickie as I’m about to begin stitching.  But having just placed an order on eBay for replacement equipment the thought came into my mind… they don’t make things like they used to…

Now as you continue reading, you’ll realise this is very much tongue in cheek.  I’ve just had to order a replacement set of sewing snips.  These only cost a few pounds, I’ve pushed the boat out this time and bought a ‘posh pair’ but the point of this is – my old ones were only about 20 years old!

I got my original pair when I worked for a company called Ferno UK about 20 years ago.  They had a sewing department, which was a team of ladies who sewed mattress covers, bags, all the soft things you see inside an ambulance.  Anyway I spotted one of the girls using their snips one day and said “wow, they’d be really useful for when I’m sewing”, so she gave me a pair, then a second pair for my sister and that was that.  They’ve been in my sewing bag ever since and have given loyal and worthy service.

I have noticed recently though, that they just weren’t “cutting it” (sorry) anymore so have finally got round to ordering a new set.

Original Snips

They’ve given good and loyal service, but it’s time for them to go

Snips new

‘Posh’ new snips on order, hope they last as long as my originals!

All I can hope is that the new ones will give just as long service as they old ones… we’ll have to wait and see!

Well, I’m going to pour a cup of tea, settle down and begin sewing.  Enjoy your stitching!

2 responses »

  1. I have the same pair as your original snips! They are probably 15 to 20 years old as well and yes mine are not as sharp as they used to be. They were a gift from a friend’s mom who has since passed so I think I will keep mine around a little while longer since I only use them for sewing which I don’t do that often. Please let us know how the new snips work out.

Leave a Reply

