Something new – A Mother’s Love, 1

Standard

This is one of the new project’s I’ve decided to do.  It’s not very big with a count of just 67 x 67 stitches, just under 5 inches square on 14ct but I like the colours and it will stitch up nice and easily.

It’s from the 2013 Joan Elliott’s Stitcher’s Diary which was a freebie with the World of Cross Stitching magazine.  I’ve decided to stitch April which is titled A Mother’s Love (more appropriate for March which is when we celebrate Mothers’ Day I’d have thought) and shows a dragon and dragonlet (what is the correct name for a baby dragon?)

I really like dragons, ever since I read about Smaug in The Hobbit (one of my favourite books) when I was about 11 or 12 years old.  This one is a cute dragon, I prefer them to be more of a ‘great dragon’, but this one appeals to me, so will be my next project.  I enjoy fantasy books and love to read Terry Pratchett’s  Discworld, Tolkien, JK Rowling, the idea of dragons and magic are something I find very appealing.

Mind you I also like Tom Clancy, Wilbur Smith, Maeve Binchy, Robert Ludlum’s “Bourne” series, Dan Brown, John Grisham, Barbara Taylor-Bradford, Bernard Cornwell just to name a few!

April Design

April Chart

The only downside to these charts is that the thread key, which is lovely and clear, is at the back of the diary, so each time I want to check what colour a symbol relates to I’ll have to keep flicking back and forth; which of course I won’t because I’ll photocopy the page instead!

Also when you are buying threads, because you don’t have a specific list per design, you don’t know which colours you need and which you can ignore.  I was lucky as I have many of the colours already so I just bought the ones I didn’t have, which means I can stitch any of the designs as and when I fancy.

I’m using the threads I bought just before Christmas, from a site I came across when searching for inexpensive threads, Cross Stitch Heaven.  The delivery was a little slower than I would have liked (though not really that long) but at 39p per skein I’m really pleased with the threads which are from DMC.  So I think I’ll be using them for my thread orders from now on and probably my Aida as well.

So, the fabric is cut, the threads just need winding onto bobbins, the colour key needs copying and then I’m ready to go, so that will be tomorrow then!

Enjoy your stitching!

About Debbe

I’ve been cross stitching since my early teens some 35 years ago. I love to share my cross-stitching adventures which is what my blog is all about; an insight into my cross-stitching world. Please feel free to join me if cross-stitching is your passion.

Leave a Reply

