New Year Resolutions…

Standard

Now this title may strike you as a little odd, given that it’s posted on the 10th September – some 2½ months before New Year.  But the thing is that I get the benefit of 2 new years each 12 months.

Unlike any other job I’ve ever had, working at a school really does give you a fresh start come the 1st September. You’ve been away from things for anything up to 6 weeks.  Older pupils have left the school, younger ones have joined so there is a sea of new faces to learn.  Other pupils are bring encouraged to ‘start again’ with their efforts towards GCSEs and the whole place has a lovely buzz to it.  Even if the 6am alarm calls does feel like a body blow for the first few days!  So as school went back on Monday, though I have yet to join them; a particularly nasty tummy virus keeping me at home, in bed all week, I’ve decided that now is as good a time as any for some new resolution thinking.

I’m losing weight at the moment, having gained a ridiculous amount of weight over the last 5-1o years and attend a really friendly and supportive Slimming World group at the Golden Fleece Pub in Birkenshaw on a Thursday evening (5.30pm and 7pm classes available) run by a lovely lady called Jackie.

I’ve not been on the plan very long and have lost 9lb, which includes a week on holiday when I managed to maintain my weight loss (how did I manage that!?) – pretty good I think, being happy with a 1lb loss per week.  But this tummy bug, which occasioned the need for my first ever home visit from our local GP, has given me a chance to make a hopefully long term change to the way I eat and think about food.  Oddly enough even though I didn’t eat anything at all for 3 full days, and only had a couple of very light meals over the following couple of days I haven’t felt particularly hungry.  Now that’s obviously the bug doing it’s thing, but I have drunk gallons of water, both cold and tepid.  And the thing is that despite being quite ill I’ve quite enjoyed it and my skin looks great, my hair feels softer and my eyes are quite bright and clear.  Just goes to show that this idea of a detox actually works!

Added to that I can feel my energy levels increasing again so I feel more positive and the weight loss over the the illness has certainly given me a boost.

So back to the resolutions.  One of the reasons I eat (there are many and they are varied!), is boredom. I’ll be sat watching tv or reading and my brain wants food because it’s something to do.  What stops that happening?  Cross stitch!  I never get bored when I’m stitching, I get so engrossed in what I am doing that I don’t think about eating, in fact I don’t like to get up once I’m settled as it breaks my concentration.

So from today I’m going to try and do at least 1 hour stitching per day and… do my blog alternate days – that will be the difficult one.  Not being used to writing a blog I tend to think that no-one is going to be interested in what I’m up to but I’ve decided that doesn’t matter.  I’m going to use this blog as a record of my stitching and as a general ‘thoughts on life’ type of thing.  After all if I’m doing more cross stitch that means less wine (I can’t count stitches after a glass of wine) which means I’ll have to let the stress of being back at school out somewhere!

Leave a Reply

